Created by Eric L. Watts in 1999 and presented at Dragon*Con from 1999 to 2009,
Treklanta is proud to be the new home of the world-famous...
Miss Klingon Empire Beauty Pageant
8:00 p.m. Saturday, April 29, 2017
General Information
The Eighteenth Annual Miss Klingon Empire Beauty Pageant is open to any qualified attending female member of the 2017 Treklanta who is at least 18 years of age and who agrees to abide by the rules of this contest as posted here, now and in the future.  There is NO registration fee nor any additional cost to participate.  Membership in or affiliation with any Klingon-oriented organization (i.e., KAG, KLAW, etc.) is not required.

Contestants in the 2017 Miss Klingon Empire Beauty Pageant will be judged in three separate categories.  They include:
  • "Beauty" --- Contestants will be judged on the quality and professionalism of their costumes, make-up and "modeling."  Contestants may assume the identity of any Klingon female character from any incarnation of Star Trek or any original Klingon persona of their own creation.  Contestants will be asked to walk a runway in their Klingon persona.  Poise, grace and the authenticity of her persona will be the criteria for judging.

    "Talent" --- Contestants will be allowed NO MORE THAN FIVE MINUTES to demonstrate a talent or skill.  Contestants may sing, dance, act, perform or make any other type of presentation that demonstrates a talent or skill so long as the presentation does not endanger herself, other contestants, the master of ceremonies, the judges or the audience.  (In other words, no flaming bat'leth twirling, etc.)  Contestants are encouraged but not required to present a Klingon-themed talent or skill.  Originality and the authenticity of her persona will be the criteria for judging.  Contestants must disclose to the Treklanta staff their talent act intentions prior to the convention for planning purposes, but such information will be kept strictly confidential.  Audio, video or other technical equipment needed for a specific talent presentation can usually be provided with sufficient advance notice.

    "Personality" --- Each contestant will either be asked a question to which she must respond.  Contestants who dodge, avoid or refuse to answer the question will be disqualified.  The authenticity of her answer or performance, and of her persona, will be criteria for judging.
Master of Ceremonies and Celebrity Judges
The Miss Klingon Empire Beauty Pageant will be MC'ed by its creator and producer, Eric L. Watts.  The pageant will be judged by our Guests of Honor David Gerrold, J. G. Hertzler, James Horan and Scott L. Schwartz.
The winner of the Miss Klingon Empire Beauty Pageant will receive a number of prizes with a total value of more than $600, including:
16" tall acrylic trophy on a solid wood base.  A plaque on the front of the trophy will be autographed by the pageant's celebrity judges (retail value $400)
Fabulous 8" tall rhinestone tiara, plated in sterling silver and styled with hundreds of all-hand-prong set Swarovski rhinestones (retail value $90)
Exquisite satin pageant banner, embroidered in red on white satin, trimmed in blue and green... the official colors of the Klingon Empire (retail value: $80)
A fabulous bouquet of freshly cut, colorful, gorgeous pageant flowers (retail value $60)
Deadline, Registration and Maximum Participation
The deadline to register for the Miss Klingon Empire Beauty Pageant is April 14, 2017.  There will be a maximum of ten contestants.  Contestants must register in advance in order to participate.  If you are interested in participating or have any questions or comments about this event, send email to Treklanta.
Confirmed Participation to Date
Name of Contestant
Home City & State
Date Confirmed
 1.  Konora (Hanna Hoyt) Charlotte NC November 21, 2016
 2.  Wa‘ smaQ‘ íQíer (Lena Liebkind) Frankfurt, Germany February 10, 2017
 3.  T'aror of the House Mo'Kai (Natalie Gill) Decatur GA March 14, 2017
 4.  ? (Savannah Pierce) Greenwood SC March 16, 2017
Miss Klingon Empire Beauty Pageant Winners, 1999-2016
Miss Klingon Empire 2016
"T'aror of the House of Daa'maq"
(Natalie Gill)
Miss Klingon Empire 2015
(Jennifer Cook)
Miss Klingon Empire 2014
(Cree Myers)
Miss Klingon Empire 2013
(Morgan Skye)
Miss Klingon Empire 2012
"Keela zantai-Septaric"
(Leila McMichael)
Miss Klingon Empire 2011
"SajQa' sutai Fenix"
(Andrea Benton)
Miss Klingon Empire 2009
"Warrior Ariam"
(Lucy Boydston)
Miss Klingon Empire 2008
"Nej Vestai Le'nIvnav"
(Sonya Desilets)
Miss Klingon Empire 2007
"VarkNa B'traughh"
(Valerie Rice)
Miss Klingon Empire 2006
"Rok'ela DevnoH"
(Sharon Carter)
Miss Klingon Empire 2005
"Kita' sutai-Juriss"
(Rita Howard)
Miss Klingon Empire 2003: "Ma'Jon of the Clan IpaQ"
Miss Klingon Empire 2001: "QeqiVah sutai-Lorenssith"
Miss Klingon Empire 1999: “Gunner H'nter”
Miss Klingon Empire 2004
"KheTara sutai-Lorenssith"
(Christine Evans-Arriaga)
Miss Klingon Empire 2003
"Ma'Jon of the Clan IpaQ"
(Marjan Peltier)
Miss Klingon Empire 2002
"Ruthar Sutai-Lorenssith"
(Meg Costabile)

Miss Klingon Empire 2001
"QeqiVah sutai-Lorenssith"
(Sherry Williams)

Miss Klingon Empire 2000
"Ambassador K'Zeyhta"
(Sue Regonini)
Miss Klingon Empire 1999
"Gunner H'nter"
(Lynn Herrick)
Various Judges Panels, 1999-2016

2016 Judges: Bjo Trimble, John Trimble, Jack Stauffer, Tracee Lee Cocco, Carel Struycken.

2015 Judges: Keith R. A. DeCandido, Jason Carter, Anne Lockhart, Sean Kenney.

2014 Judges: (Far left) Felix Silla, Arlene Martel, (far right) Jeremy Roberts, Keith R. A. DeCandido.

2013 Judges: Emmett Plant, Keith R. A. DeCandido, Brian Holloway, Ken Feinberg, Manu Intiraymi.

2012 Judges: Dr. Lawrence M. Schoen, David Orange, Morgan Gendel.

2011 Judges: Emmett Plant, Gwynyth Walsh, Barbara March, Tim Russ.

2009 Judges: Garrett Wang, Anthony Montgomery, James Cawley, Alan Ruck, Dwight Schultz.

2008 Judges: Autumn-Skye Boothe, Michael Dorn, Dominic Keating, Ethan Phillips, James Cawley.

2007 Judges: Autumn-Skye Boothe, John de Lancie, BarBara Luna, Ken Feinberg. Not pictured: Charles Root.

2006 Judges: Denise Crosby, George Takei, Autumn-Skye Boothe, Tony Todd.

2005 Judges: Max Grodenchik, Robin Curtis, Connor Trinneer, Autumn-Skye Boothe.

2004 Judges: Garrett Wang. Not pictured: Richard Herd, Autumn-Skye Boothe.

2003 Judges: J. G. Hertzler, George Takei and Vaughn Armstrong. Not pictured: Autumn-Skye Boothe.

2002 Judges: Armin Shimerman, Robert Picardo, Ethan Phillips and Autumn-Skye Boothe.

2000 Judges: J. G. Hertzler and Robert O'Reilly.

1999 Judges: Larry Septrick, Cheralyn L. Lambeth, Richard Herd.